Thursday, January 26, 2023

Rock Gold Assemblies

Thanks to Amy Gold for organizing the assemblies for the Rock Gold Concert. Thanks to the musicians who have been sharing their music. Photos are from the North Elementary assembly.

Students are learning about the different sections of the orchestra and how the instruments work. Lots of ways for sound to transmit. Lots of ways for vibrations to be activated. Ask your student which of these instruments makes a particularly great glissando. Ask your student why the pitch changes on a violin or drum. We love sharing our music with our local schools.  Thanks to the participating schools.

Here's a parent response:

OSU performed at my sons school today (Fiddlers Elementary) and he came home telling us all about it and that he wants to attend a concert! Thanks so much for getting my son excited to see orchestra performances!!

The Rock Gold Concert is Thursday, Feb. 9, at 7:30 p.m. at the Heritage Center.  Tickets available at 

 LINK: Preview the concert music

We have some special helpers behind the musicians.

4th and 9th Graders have recieved a free season pass. If it is lost come to the concert and Amy Gold will let in your student free. Just tell her what school your 4th or 9th grade student attends. Homeschool students who are at the 4th or 9th grade age may also attend free. Accompanying adult does need a ticket.

Tuesday, January 10, 2023

82nd Handel's "Messiah" Photos

Thanks to patrons, musicians, and especially Brooke MacNaughton and Amy Gold for photos. 
Thanks also to Omarian Atman of for sharing photographs.

We so appreciate everyone who participated.

Lobby music by Accidental 5

Lobby music by Southern Utah Handbell Choir

backstage leadership, Lisa Cox, Jackie Riddle-Jackson, Carylee Zwang, and Rebekah Hughes

Amy Gold and Karaly Whitesal helped with the ticketing.

Choir warmup

Soloists and directors for 2022 performance

Xun Sun conducting Hallelujah encore on Monday

Xun Sun with Alex Byers, Monday performance

Leavitts with Suns after Monday performance.

OSU President Harold Shirley and Treasurer Diane Shirley with Suns and Leavitts.